Veterans Memorial Committee

A Veterans Memorial Committee is created and established (R-2016-009-01) to explore possible locations and designs and make recommendations to the City Council on the feasibility and costs for creating and installing a memorial garden / park area to commemorate Haltom City veterans. The Committee shall be composed of five members selected by the City Council at large. The members shall be appointed and shall serve until the project is complete.

The City Council shall assign one council contact person and one staff contact person. Members serve at the will and pleasure of the City Council and may be replaced at any time at the discretion of the City Council by a vote of at least five Council members. A chair and vice-chair shall be elected at the first meeting. The Committee shall keep minutes but is not subject to the Open Meetings Act.


The Veterans Memorial Committee meets on an as-needed basis.

Appointed Members

  • Bob Watkins
  • Don LeMaster
  • Layla Caraway
  • Jeannine Nunn
  • Karl Johnson
  • Staff Contact - Greg Van Nieuwenhuize